The St. John’s Board of Trade is a proud partner in several key associations with whom we work to advance the concerns of our members. These include:

The Canadian Chamber of Commerce

The Canadian Chamber of Commerce is Canada’s largest and most influential business association. The Canadian Chamber of Commerce is the primary and vital connection between business and the federal government. It continually demonstrates impact on public policy and decision-making for the benefit of businesses, communities, and families across Canada. In addition to the Canadian Chamber’s advocacy work on behalf of business, they also assist businesses of all sizes in reducing their bottom line costs through a number of benefit programs.

The Atlantic Provinces Chamber of Commerce

The Atlantic Provinces Chambers of Commerce (APCC), formerly the Maritime Board of Trade, was formed in 1896. It has been championing the cause of business in Atlantic Canada for in excess of a century and continues to promote and support business and economic development in Atlantic Canada.

It was in 1974, when the Newfoundland & Labrador Chamber of Commerce (NLCC) joined the Maritime Board; therefore, forming today’s Atlantic Provinces Chambers of Commerce. In 1985, provincial chambers in New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island were formed to support the chamber’s work in policy and government regulations.

Today, the four provincial chambers and the regional APCC operate under a common set of by-laws and serve as a federation comprised of over 100 local chambers of commerce and boards of trade throughout Atlantic Canada, representing more than 16,000 businesses and professional people.

The Newfoundland and Labrador Business Coalition

The Business Coalition is the collaborative voice of business in Newfoundland and Labrador and is comprised of business associations who represent thousands of public and private employers and their employees throughout the province.

The Business Coalition is a volunteer organization made up of business organizations throughout the province and was created to represent the business community in the strategic partnership. The St. John’s Board of Trade and the Newfoundland and Labrador Employer’s Council were founding members of the Business Coalition whose membership is now comprised of 11 associations representing businesses across the province.  The 11 associations are:

  • Newfoundland and Labrador Employers Council (NLEC)
  • St. John’s Board of Trade (BOT)
  • Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters (CME)
  • Canadian Federation of Independent Business (CFIB)
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Technology Industries (NATI)
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Chamber of Mineral Resources (NLCMR)
  • Hospitality Newfoundland and Labrador (HNL)
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Oil and Gas Association (NOIA)
  • Newfoundland Environmental Industries Association (NEIA)
  • Merit Contractors of NL (MERIT)
  • Association of Seafood Producers (ASP)

The Business Coalition represents business in the strategic partnership; and works together to complement and support the work of its member associations on matters of strategic importance to business in Newfoundland and Labrador.